Home LOCAL NEWS APC Wins Akure South, North Federal Constituency Bye-Election

APC Wins Akure South, North Federal Constituency Bye-Election


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Mr Alademayokun Olarewaju of the All Progressives Congress as winner of Saturday’s by-election for the Akure North/Akure South Federal Constituency.

Declaring the result in Akure, the Returning Officer, Prof. Deji Ogunseni, said Olarewaju polled 26,370 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Olumuyiwa Adu of the Peoples Democratic Party, who scored 24,201 votes.

Ogunseni said Mr Olawale Oyekanmi of the Accord Party scored 41 votes; Mrs Oluwawemimo Fadekemi of ADP scored 465 votes; Joseph Ajayi of APP polled 125 votes; Johnson Olawusi of NRM scored 76 votes, while Opawole Tajudeen of SDP scored 68 votes.

The bye-election was conducted to fill the vacant seat, following the death of the member representing the constituency, Mr Adedayo Omolafe, in August, 2021.


Previous articleNigeria Loses As Russia-Ukraine War Escalates Global Oil Prices
Next articleUKRAINE: Reno Omokri Disagrees With David Hundeyin, FFK Over Racism
Seasoned Blogger and Media Personnel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.